letters to Chile

Dear Santiago,

We love you.  You are lush and beautiful and exotic, and even though the cold, rainy season has begun, there is no place we’d rather be.

Dear furniture,

I miss you so much more than I thought I would.  We hope you arrive safely and soon.

Dear store that  fixing my computer,

I understand that you’d like a confirmation via email that we will pay for the repairs, but our language barrier seems to be preventing said email dialog from taking place.   Can’t you just fix the darn thing?

Dear computer,

I miss you almost as much as my furniture.

Dear fancy-pants international school,

We love you, but can’t we do something about the pick-up and drop-off mayhem?  We’ve gone to quite a few schools in our time, and I’ve never seen school traffic quite this frustrating.

Dear Huggies people,

If you are going to sell diapers in South America and charge as much (or more) for them as you do in the U.S., could you just sell the same diapers and not these crummy ones that leak?

Dear Wal-mart,

When you’re loading up the “Great value” products for Chile (and believe me, we appreciate the peanut butter, mac and cheese, marshmallows and spaghetti sauce) could you throw in a few jars of dill pickles?  Pretty please?

Dear friends and family,

The next time you see me, I will be speaking somewhat competent Spanish.  AND I’m going to cook you some divine Peruvian food.  We are loving life.

8 thoughts on “letters to Chile

  1. Elie Standard

    rolling on the floor laughing…and remembering when Albertina would write and call..Mom, Please get some??? and send it…can’t find here in Panama or the PX…E

    Reply
  2. Laura Egbert

    Hey Liz – LOVE Santiago! I’m glad you are enjoying it as much as you can during the crazy rain! Don’t they have the school bus transport anymore at Nido? I can’t imagine the mayhem! besos.

    Reply
  3. Katy

    Glad to hear you are alive and thriving. I can only imagine the things that I would miss, but there are something wonderful new things to discover, maybe I would quickly get over it. Plus, you are just going to have to learn to make your own pickles.

    Reply
  4. Michelle

    What an amazing adventure. We sure miss you here, but it sounds like things are going pretty well. Thinking of you.

    Reply
  5. Jennifer

    Thanks for the update! I hope you had a happy birthday by the way. What a fun way to write your letter…very creative. Good luck making your own pickles…ha ha. I’m sure that is not at the top of your list. We sure miss you terribly! Guess what? It has been cold and rainy here too. We had two feet of snow on Monday. That is very late for May!

    Reply
  6. Laura

    Liz, Hi there! I”m a friend of Alice’s. I have to say I love reading about your new ex-pat life. I’ve always wanted to live away for a bit, but alas, will probably never have the opportunity. I’m living vicariously through you. Good luck on your new adventures. I’ll be reading. :)

    Reply
  7. Susan

    Elizabeth: Give my Chilean friends a big hug from me! I do miss them–they help you forget the peanut butter and brownie mix. Enjoy the adventure!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

