an honest post

Is anyone tired of my blog never having any pictures on it?  I am.  Soon I’ll post some pics of the house and the kids in Chile.  Fall is beautiful here.

So this is for all of you who have been saying I’m amazing and everything.  I really appreciate that.  Keep saying it if you want me to feel good.  But here’s the honest truth.  Living in Chile isn’t going to be hard at all.  Transitions are always hard, and this one is a doozy, with the international travel, etc., but once we are settled, life is going to be great here. 

Let me give you an example.  I had a couple of long days this week because Matt was working all day and I needed to stay home in our rental house to wait for our refrigerator and washer and dryer to be delivered.  The second day, I was waiting for the guys to come hook them up.  Yes, we lived for about a day and a half with no refrigerator — not exactly third world.  GE appliances, full-sized washer and dryer, ice and water in the door.  I have utterly nothing to complain about. 

The one and only thing that is hard here (ok there might be a few more, but this is the main thing) is that I don’t speak Spanish.  And that is hard, especially right now when we need so many things set up, delivered, hooked up, etc.  Besides that, the house is lovely, the school is excellent, I’m almost used to the driving, we are getting into a routine (sort of) and we have everything we need.

So thanks, all of our loving well-wishers.  Keep praying for us.  But mostly pray that I will have the gift of tongues, because that is what I need the most right now.

3 thoughts on “an honest post

  1. Vicki Lambert

    Elizabeth, It was so great to read your blogs!! I love hearing the details of your life. Please write every day–I love it.

    Reply
  2. Kate

    I’m glad you’re settling in! What a whirlwind you’ve been through! I can’t really imagine what it would be like to not understand most of what’s going on around you! It’s an adventure I guess! And I hope you have fun getting to know Lindsey. She’s super nice and I really like her. I bet you probably do to! And mostly I wanted to thank you for the gift you sent for Lucy! That was so nice of you! Golly, you’re thoughtful! Thank you, Thank you!!

    I sure hope that gift of tongues comes soon!

    Reply
  3. Rachel

    Can’t WAIT to see those pictures … if I knew Espanole :) — then I would send some your way!! You’ll get it … and then you’ll be a whiz! HUGS!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

