bright spots

Taking the morning off in our hotel room so that Thomas can take a real nap.  He hasn’t had one all week (except in the car), which makes us both a little grumpy.

I won’t lie — living in a hotel (a perfectly lovely hotel) with five children isn’t easy.  I have to swallow my pride every morning when I show up at the breakfast bar with my five children.  We are a spectacle, but we are certainly getting our money’s worth, as we eat our weight in Fruit Loops and bagels.

We always enjoy a little cable TV in a hotel, since we stick to the cheaper, broadcast variety at home.  Have you seen this?  I am fascinated with Temple Grandin, and would 100% recommend this movie.  HBO made it, but you’ll be able to rent it or Netflix it soon, I think.  Has anyone read any of Grandin’s books?  I’ve seen her interviewed, and she is the kind of unique individual I can hardly take my eyes off of.  Claire Danes should win an award for her performance in the movie.

That was a bit of a tangent.  Speaking of bright spots, it wasn’t easy for the kids to see our house packed up and emptied out (Mary has told me more than once that she wants her room back), but I wanted to remember a few sweet things.  I have nothing but respect for the professionals who moved us.  I’m always happy when there are women on the team — they typically have the women do the details and the breakable stuff, while the men do the heavy lifting.  Always feels better when a woman is carefully packing my dishes.

There were a couple of strong, affable Pacific Islanders on the team, and on the last day, Mary and I danced to their happy, island tunes in our empty living room.  There was also a very kind Mexican man (who, for the record, spoke excellent English) who helped box our furniture, and when he heard where we are going, he began labeling items in Spanish.  Yes, please be “mucho cuidado” with my glass-front hutch!  As I think about living in a foreign country, I have a whole new way of looking at people from other countries living in America.  Please be patient with people who are learning English!  I hope Chileans will be patient with my limited Spanish.

Our friends and family have been so kind, and I have to not really think about leaving them behind.  We are excited, and don’t want to feel sad and wistful.  Just know that we love you too.

Tomorrow, the real packing (for the airplane) begins.

3 thoughts on “bright spots

  1. Pmom

    Thanks for the reminder about how to treat English-learners. I hope I am always kind and helpful, but it is helpful to reflect and renew the reasons for ones commitment to this.

    Reply
  2. liz

    yes! I loved that movie. It helped me understand my son a lot better with his autism. I am reading one of her books now and she has a really good video on TED you might want to check out. so inspiring!

    Reply
  3. Rachel

    Good luck with moving and unpacking! What exciting adventures to look forward to – and have your family ALL together!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

