swamped

I feel like I should be posting daily during these exciting times.  But the truth of the matter is, keeping a house worthy of showing to potential buyers when five children live in it takes basically 100% of my time.  It has also made me into a way meaner mother than usual (don’t even think about spilling your milk).

The good news is, in spite of what we hear about the real estate market, we have shown the house to about 20 people in the last 10 days, and at the risk of jinxing it, we should be under contract in the next couple of days.  We feel incredibly thankful, and also give a lot of credit to our Realtor, who is excellent, if you ever need one.

We are also nearer to having a set move date (it’s April 26th, but the plane tickets have yet to be purchased, so don’t write it in pen), and a decision has finally been made about our household goods (store or ship has been the question for weeks).  We are shipping most of them to Chile.  I am thrilled that the budget is allowing for that, because it means that our piano, our children’s books, and all of the Polly Pockets and Legos can come with us.  Also, it means that when we arrive, we won’t have to frantically purchase items for our home, which sounded sort of fun (the company would have given a budget for that scenario) but terribly stressful.  The older I get, the more I realize I’m not really a shopper.

If you are looking for gently used children’s toys or know someone who needs some very old (but free!) furniture items, please let me know.  We could have a killer garage sale with all of the junk I need to get rid of, but I’d much rather just give it to someone who needs it.  Should I list some of the bigger items on the blog?  Check back, because I might do that.

4 thoughts on “swamped

  1. Jen

    yes, post your stuff on your blog – some of my most favorite items in my house have come as hand-me-downs or deals I’ve found on KSL. “One man’s junk is another man’s treasure” is my motto!

    Reply
  2. LCM

    I have heard that shipping a piano, especially from one climate to another, is a dicey situation. We actually had a piano restorer to come and see if we had a formerly expensive piano that could be restored. It wasn’t and she didn’t recommend shipping it either.
    We want to start Buttercup on piano lessons and now I guess I have to find something for her to practice on…ugh.

    Reply
  3. Emily

    Liz,
    I just wanted to say thanks for the comment you left on my blog today. It helps so much to hear from mothers with experience on these matters. Thanks for sharing your wisdom.

    And good luck with your move! I’ve been following your adventures here (and through Anne :)

    xo

    Reply
  4. Susan

    Elizabeth: So exciting to hear of your Chile news! You will love it. Thinking back we left our piano behind–b/c it is hard on a piano to ship via sea. We were able to purchase and easily sell ours in Chile. Something to think about. I can’t wait for you to get to know and love the Chilean people!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

