the news

I have hesitated to post about this, because it’s so fun to tell people in person and see their reaction, but it’s about time to share the news:  our family is moving to Santiago, Chile for three years.

Did you just gasp?  I’ve pretty much been in a constant state of gasp for two weeks now. 

We are still waiting for the final word from Matt’s company regarding “the package”, meaning what expenses they will cover, what the timing will be, etc., but we have made some tentative decisions.  One is that we’ll go as soon as possible, since Matt will continue to commute back and forth to South America until we move.  Another is that we will sell our home and both of our vehicles.

I am busy getting the house in “showing” condition, pulling together documents for passports and visas, researching schools and neighborhoods in Chile, and just generally trying not to panic.  I alternate between excited and thrilled, and worried and anxious, which I think is probably normal.

Anyway, Yay!  And do you know anyone who’s looking for a house in the best neighborhood in Salt Lake City?

16 thoughts on “the news

  1. Sarah

    That is amazing. Doug and I have always wanted to have an ex-pat experience! I’m a little jealous. I can’t wait to hear all the details.

    Reply
  2. valerie

    FUN! You know Susan Hunter in our ward in Canton lived there, right? I think for 3 years with little kids. She would be a great resource. I also know the last Mission pres that came from there. I also know the new Mission pres going there! Sounds like I know a lot of people hugh? I bet you wish I knew someone to buy your house…..

    Reply
  3. Pmom

    Wow! I’m very excited for you and your family. What an opportunity! I’m sure that parts of it will be hard, but it should be wonderful too.

    I adore your house. I would like to buy it. Whoever gets it will be very lucky indeed. I assume you will put lots of pictures and info on your blog so that people can pass the word around? Are you going to work with a realtor or sell it yourselves?

    Reply
  4. emily

    liz, how exciting! what an incredible, once in a lifetime adventure for your family! and you’ll all be together … experiencing, learning, growing. i love it! can’t wait to hear as details unfold …

    Reply
  5. Amy

    Oh my heavens! Liz! I wish that I were there to show you my gasping reaction, and I especially wish that I were there to help you prepare. You, as always, will be great. What a woman you are!

    Reply
  6. Jen

    It is the most bittersweet news – so exciting and so sad for us, your neighbors, at the same time. When you are ready to sell your van, let me know. We are in the market… almost ready.

    Reply
  7. Kate

    Liz! That’s awesome! I just had a friend in my ward who moved down there with her hubby and three kids! I could get you her email if you wanted to ask her some questions. They’ve been down there for about 6 months… so she might know the lay of the land by now. And she’s super nice so I bet she”d love to give you some pointers… likes schools/neighborhoods. I’m excited for your family. From my friends pictures it looks so pretty down there!

    Reply
  8. Jen

    PS – looking forward to following your blog over the next 3 years and seeing all of your adventures! Mary told my co-teacher on Sunday and she asked me, “Is Mary REALLY moving to Chile?” It was funny. I think she thought maybe Mary didn’t know what she was talking about.

    Reply
  9. LCM

    That is so amazing! I agree, you will have to keep up with your blog so that we can live vicariously through you. What an experience that will be for your whole family.

    Reply
  10. Jill

    I’m sorry but I am not on the excited bandwagon with the rest of these folks. I am in mourning. 3 long years of mourning. I am going to miss you so terribly. Despite our 800 mile distance I knew I could count on seeing you 3 times a year. If you weren’t such a great sister-in-law this would be a lot easier. And if my kids didn’t love their cousins so much that would make this a lot easier too. What a wonderful experience though, and certainly your upbringing has prepared you for this. Plus, with your brilliant children being immersed in that environment, I am jealous that they will be fluent in Spanish. Love you Liz.

    Reply
  11. Alice

    How exciting for you and your family. I really enjoy reading your blog and will definitely keep up on it as you move to Chile. We will all want to follow you on your adventures. Hope we can get together before you head south.

    Reply
  12. Bethany

    I found your blog from your post on Bloom (which I found from c jane enjoy it). I love finding blogs about motherhood and seeing how others do it (especially to pass my time when I’m feeding my baby in the middle of the night)!

    I don’t usually comment (yeah, I’m one of those…), but I had to on this. My sister and her family live in Santiago! I’m wondering if you’ve already been in touch with her actually. I’d call her if it wasn’t the middle of the night. Have you or your husband heard of the Ponczoch’s down in Chile? If not, I can get you in touch with them if you have any questions at all. They live in a nice neighborhood (my brother-in-law is the bishop) and can tell you about schools and everything there.

    What an exciting experience for your family!

    -Bethany

    Reply

Leave a Reply

