bpa — is it time to get on the bandwagon?

I was listening to this show on the radio this morning, and I have to admit, it was pretty convincing.  I think this issue has reached the mainstream, and is not just of concern to hyper-environmentalist types.

Fortunately, I’ve been able to breastfeed all of my babies, so none of them were exposed to much bpa from baby bottles.  This is a big concern because of developing brains, and because a baby gets all of its nutrition from a single source.  New baby bottles are bpa-free (at least in the U.S.) and there is all kinds of legislative action on this issue, at the state and federal level, pending.

I am pondering how difficult it would be to eliminate plastic from food preparation and storage in my kitchen.  Not all plastics have bpa, but do you wonder what the next “problem chemical” will be?  Maybe we should just quit plastic in general.  It makes a lot of sense to me not to heat things in any plastic containers (but I do it sometimes anyway, because I’m all about convenience right now) and I’ve already changed from plastic to stainless steel water bottles.  Other issues include bpa in the linings of tin cans.  Peanut butter?  Mayonnaise?  Do we need to buy everything in a glass jar?  What about freezer storage?  Would you give up ziploc bags (which don’t have bpa, apparently)? 

I’m not going to spend a lot of time explaining this issue, because there’s literally one ton of information on the subject (you might be overwhelmed if you google it).  I’m mostly wondering what other people are doing about it personally.  Have you done much research on bpa and plastics?  Have you changed your habits as a result?  Any helpful tips?

5 thoughts on “bpa — is it time to get on the bandwagon?

  1. Katy

    Susan Fenton loaned me Jillian Michael’s book Mastering Your Metabolism. I was surprised that Jillian actually seems to give some convincing explanations for our metabolisms going out of whack. She is a big proponent of getting rid of plastic (she specifically addresses BPA) and everything else artificial. I have contemplated getting rid of plastic, but that is going to take major changes. I try not to stress out and slowly make adjustments to our life and diet. Hopefully that will be enough!

    Reply
  2. Christina

    I try to avoid plastic but with our concrete floors we end up with lots of broken dishes! I do use freezer bags. I canned a lot of my own food this Summer and hope to do more next year so I can avoid buying too many canned goods from the store. I’m really wanting a cow so I can avoid all that excess packaging that comes with all the milk products we eat. And I think cows are pretty cute:)

    Reply
  3. Jonesy

    I think we’re all headed toward growing and storing our own food, because, just like the bpa issues, we seem to have recalls of every food product sold to us.
    I still use plastic because that’s what I have and right now I can’t afford to replace every plastic thing in my house. For me, I’m trying to get really good at gardening so I can ween myself off of store bought goods in general. Love the idea of getting a cow…probably not the best idea for our little square-foot backyard, tho. :)
    (Liz, you’re right! We met at a birthday party for Brian back when they were first married & lived in that basement in Provo. I’m impressed you remember. I thought I was the only one with a hyper-memory! I’m enjoying reading your blog. Insightful.)

    Reply
  4. danielle

    Yeah I think about this too. I never microwave anything in plastic. And I have glass storage containers that have plastic lids (but they are bpa free). And you can actually freeze things in jars.

    I don’t know…I feel like this stuff gets complicated. It seems like there is always some new discovery of some toxic chemical etc. but it just seems like if our lives were lived more simply…if we ate fresh food, and used more products that were just closer to their natural state a lot of these things could be avoided? I don’t know, maybe its not practical, but it just seems as new discoveries are made about what is healthy and what isn’t, it turns out that nature has pretty much provided for us and we over complicate things by trying to make life more convenient. What’s best and healthiest usually turns out to be what is natural and obvious.

    Reply
  5. Jen

    I’ve been thinking alot about this issue lately too. As I buy new things, I’ve been buying BPA free but we still use most of our old stuff although we got rid of all the #7 water bottles. I agree that there is always a new thing and we just do our best each day to make good choices for our family.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

