Miep Gies

“I stand at the end of the long, long line of good Dutch people who did what I did or more – much more –  during those dark and terrible times years ago, but always like yesterday in the hearts of those of us who bear witness. Never a day goes by that I do not think of what happened then.”

Do you know the name Miep Gies?  She died Monday at the ripe old age of 100, and I feel a little connection to her, because I once played her in a play.  It was a tiny part in “Diary of Anne Frank” my senior year of high school, but an important one.  Miep helped the Frank family survive during their months in the secret annex.  And, she was thoughtful enough to preserve Anne’s diary.  She is the reason why we have it today.  She was fun to play, because during part of that time, she was pregnant, so I had this funny little soft belly to wear.

I admire Miep so much.  She had courage to do what was right in a frightening time.  She was humble, never wanting to be called a hero.  And she was grateful.  She said on the occasion of her recent birthday, “I am one hundred years old now. That is an admirable age, and I have even reached it in fairly good health. So then it’s fair to say you’ve been fortunate, and being fortunate seems to be the red thread running through my life.”

Miep had a very informative website (how very modern of her!) and wrote her own book about the Anne Frank story.  How about reading either her book, or The Diary of Anne Frank this month as a tribute to a life well lived?

4 thoughts on “Miep Gies

  1. Nana

    I just read about Miep in the paper this AM before I read this post, and was going to call you. I remember that play well. I’m glad you are blogging again.

    Reply
  2. Matt Clark

    Thought of you the other day when I saw this on the news. We lost a hero and you did a great job of helping her memory live on it time then and now.

    Hope all is well,
    Matt-

    Reply

Leave a Reply

