facebook shmacebook

Funny story.  A couple of weeks ago we were working on baby announcements (if you didn’t get one, I probably don’t have your address — let me know if you’d enjoy getting something in the mail that’s not an ad or a bill, because I still have some) and were trying to hunt down a couple of old friends of Matt’s.  Why not try Facebook, we thought.  We hear it’s the best form of communication since cell phones (which you’ll know I don’t use much anyway, if you’ve ever tried to call or text me).  Yes, according to some standards, we are hopelessly behind the times.

In order to search Facebook, as I’m sure you know, you have to sign up for Facebook.  So I started an account with exactly three pieces of information.  My name, my high school, and my university.  There are hundreds of people with my first and last name on Facebook, so I wasn’t thinking anyone would find me, assuming they were looking.  But a week later, two friend requests from people I know.  And I realized you can have Facebook search for email addresses, so that must be what those two people did. 

Well, I would never turn down a friend, so I accepted those two and as I’m sure you can imagine, the social experiment that is Facebook started rolling.  Every person that knew those two people got a message that I was now on Facebook (and I added a picture a few days later, just for clarity), and I started getting more friend requests, mostly from people that I only know sort of vaguely.  Now I have 34 friends (does that make you think I’m cool?), and I haven’t even tried to find anyone yet.  At first I was feeling pretty good — how flattering that these people want to be my friend!  Then, I realized that the purpose of Facebook is to get as many friends as possible.  Yes, for most of those people, I’m just a means to an end.  How do I know that?  Well, if we went to school together and haven’t kept in touch, or if we saw each other at a reunion, and they barely gave me the time of day, that’s a hint that we’re not really friends, just “friends.”

Still, what a fun new way to waste time!  I hope you’ll want to be my friend too (hint, hint!).  Matt and I are contemplating having a contest to see who can get the most friends, because we are total dorks.  So far, it’s 34 to 0.

9 thoughts on “facebook shmacebook

  1. Jen H.

    Well, you guys can add Brian and I and you will see that of Brian’s 40 friends, 39 of them are our “mutual” friends which really, that just translates to the fact that they are friends he knows because of me! haha… that’s our joke anyway! I’m not a big Facebook person, I just check maybe once every couple of weeks or so. But there are some that live and breathe Facebook, so much in fact, you find out when they are going to brush their teeth, go to the bathroom, fold the laundry etc… good luck with your competition!

    Reply
  2. Robin

    I have really enjoyed Facebook. I don’t spend a whole lot of time playing their ridiculous games (kidnapping? again?), but it has been a great way to “chat” with some of my friends that are spread out all over the place. Some people do collect as many friends as possible, but others, like me, limit their friends only to those who are actually friends. Andrew has over 400 friends now, but he doesn’t even really know half of them. He just accepts everyone as a friend that requests it. I only have about 100 friends because I am more selective. Anyway, I think it’s kind of fun, and try to update my status about once or twice a day–nothing too excessive. Look for my friend request soon!

    Reply
  3. Robin

    I’m having trouble finding you, too! Is your profile under Liz or Elizabeth? Did you put your maiden name on there?

    Reply
  4. valerie

    I got your beautiful announcement! Thank you. Your kids have grown so much. They all mostly look like you.

    I’ll be your friend on facebook! I rarely get on there but, I send you a request!

    Thanks again for the adorable announcement!

    Reply
  5. Christine

    Hi Liz,

    I did get your baby announcement. It was adorable. I loved how you put pics of all of the kids. Too cute. I need to send you my new address because you sent it to Carlsbad.

    I’ll have to look you up on facebook. It’s a whole new world! Trust me!

    Reply
  6. Jodi

    Too funny, I just “added” you. :) I actually saw your name pop up today when I added someone else so I sent you a “friend” request before I even read this. Please don’t reject me. :)

    Reply
  7. andrewalma

    Facebook for me was an acquired taste. I joined more than a year ago, but only have gotten active in the few months. I have found a lot of old friends on there and have reconnected with them. I have chatted with a few of them in the online chat tool and have enjoyed seeing pictures and updates from friends.

    The cool thing is that you can choose to be as active or as passive as you desire. I automatically ignore all requests for silly polls and games, and even birthday or classmate requests. But I generally accept most friend requests. Consequently, at least half of my “friends” are people I only know marginally; some I don’t even know at all (friends of friends). I may be “unfriending” a few people.

    A couple of months ago, I jokingly challenged my brother Nate to a Facebook contest – “First one to 500 friends wins.” He won. I’m still hoving in the 480s. Probably better to be more selective. My problem is I was afraid of offending people by not accepting their overatures of cyber friendship.

    I now update my status about 4-5 times per week (it’s like a mini-blog) and I check it at least once a day at the same time as I’m checking my two personal email accounts. Hopefully it won’t become too much of a time waster…

    I haven’t beenn able to find Matt on Facebook yet. Let’s bring him into the fold!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

