a good day

I almost feel like myself this morning.

I got six hours of sleep, in two different chunks.  It’s amazing how good sleep feels when you’re this tired.  You can almost taste it, and it’s delicious.

Sam finally felt good enough to go to school today.  I don’t think I’ve ever had a kid so sick — limp and lethargic for five full days.

Thomas is finished with his phototherapy, the noisy light machine is gone, and we’re all sleeping a little better.  Plus, I can do fun things like get him dressed, and hold him whenever I want.

Mary is coming home today, after two days with her favorite person, Granny Vicki.  She even got to go on a little trip to visit her cute new cousin.  A break from her has been mucho helpful, and we’re looking forward to having her home again.

My laundry room is full of dirty clothes, and spending the morning working on it doesn’t even seem depressing. 

TGIF, meaning Matt will be home all weekend to help.  And reinforcements (my fabulous parents) arrive Monday.

Here are some pictures of an awake baby in his bili-bed (to treat the jaundice).  The lights shine from the bottom. 

bilibed

tombili

And here’s our sweet Granny Vicki, with her 15th grandchild (I think she looks too young to have that many):

grannytom

6 thoughts on “a good day

  1. other other liz

    i love the way you write about sleep- I remember that feeling! and will be tasting the weary joy of that experience in very few months. ;-) It’s fun to see what’s coming up next for me and watching him grow, thanks for posting!

    he seems to look similar to your husband (? only from the photos you have put up of him here).

    Reply
  2. Rachel

    Congratulations on your new little one! I LOVE LOVE his name too! We are having another little boy – as well as Lynette Heideman – we are trying to decide on names as they will be born within weeks of eachother. I know Lynette LOVES the name Thomas … I’ll keep you posted on what we decide! What a DOLL!! I was so excited to read about your labor story – always makes me think … I CAN do it again :) CONGRATULATIONS!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

