on being fun

The purpose of this post is not for you to comment and tell me how fun I am.  I don’t think I’m a complete drag, but I’m also not one of those “life of the party” people, and it’s ok.  I think it’s important that we understand ourselves.

There was a running joke at my parents’ house this summer about how my mother didn’t have the “fun gene.”  Her sister had informed her of this, apparently with the idea that the sister does have the fun gene.  Her sisters are actually both pretty fun.  My mom’s about as fun as I am — in a good way, mom.

So today Anne was here.  She may have the “fun gene.”  (Maybe it’s recessive?  She definitely didn’t get it from our father.)  She’s clearly more fun than I am.  She was telling me about some recent fun and funny goings-on with the family she married into, who definitely have the “fun gene.”

Later, as she was helping me with lots of non-fun things like cleaning up toys and doing dishes, I said, “We should really be doing something fun right now while I have you here.”

The punch line?  (I laughed harder than I have in a long time, more evidence that I am not, indeed, that much fun.)

“Oh, it’s ok.  I’m not here to have fun.  I’m here to be with you.”

7 thoughts on “on being fun

  1. Robin

    Boy, you gotta love sisters for telling just how it is, don’t you?

    So, out of curiosity, what, exactly, is your definition of being “fun”? Being witty and telling jokes? Going out and doing creative and adventurous activities? Starting up a game of flag football? What differentiates a person with the “fun gene” and a person without? I don’t think I’m all that fun either. I like to do fun things, but I’m not really all that motivated to start them up myself. I think I’d like to be more fun, but I never quite get around to it.

    Reply
  2. LCM

    I think that’s why we understand each other so well. I am not ‘fun’ either. Ah well, having Fiona and her having the recessive ‘fun’ gene, has made me more fun. TD once called me predictable, I first thought it was an insult, but he loves me for my predictability.

    Reply
  3. Kjersten

    Okay so I’ve been told (maybe even by you :0) that I might have the fun gene, but I’d trade you ANY DAY for your SKINNY JEANS!!! And maybe even your smarty pants…..;0) luv you liz

    Reply
  4. Jill

    I laughed allowed like Christina, agree totally with Kjersten, and want you to know that I laugh at a lot of the things you do, how you mother, what you say, and your kids do….so….I think you got the fun….ny gene!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

