long time no see

I had kind of made up my mind not to feel bad if I didn’t feel like blogging.  It’s MY blog, right?  Only thing is, I think I’m missing out on recording some golden moments.  Like how Mary gets my attention lately by saying, “hey, lizz-biff?.”  Then in the same conversation she tells me, “I lizz-biff,” then laughs and laughs at the little joke of calling herself by the wrong name.  Or how Ben recently told me, “I wish I could hypnotize you so I could make you obey my every command.” 

We’re dog-sitting for my beloved brother and his beautiful wife, which I must admit I was kind of dreading.  Last time we had Leila she was so cute, but she was still a yard-escaping, toy-chewing puppy, plus it was winter and my yard (and therefore my carpet) was kind of muddy.  This time she and my kids are a year older, and she has become a charming and easy-going dog.  The kids have had a great time with her, and she’s been very little trouble.  It’s almost tempting to get a dog.  Almost.  Here’s Leila exploring my front-yard jungle (Does anyone think that with Matt traveling a lot more I need to learn to mow a lawn?  Members of my family know why I’m kind of traumatized by that possibility, and no we don’t need to share the story here.  Anyway, Sam can do it in two more years.):

And here’s Leila trying to figure out if she can get in the tub with Mary (I’m not kidding; she really wanted to jump in):

She did have a little foray into my kitchen garbage today (icko), but I forgave her since it had been left out on account of the installation of my new dishwasher, which is officially the prettiest thing in my house right now.

Today was the last day of school for the two big boys, so we had to take the obligatory pictures (I somehow missed taking one on Jon’s last day last week — sorry Jon):

Please notice the wet ground and the hooded sweatshirts.  Happy June!  Even for Utah, this has been a weird spring, and I felt kind of bad when field days and school carnivals were cancelled this week (does that remind you of the end of the movie Grease, anyone?  Anne?).

But, the yard is loving the rain.  It looks lush and tropical, almost making me forget I live in the desert.  I get a big kick out of blooming things, and though posting pictures of my flowers sometimes makes me think I’m a 65-year-old, I’m going to keep doing it, because it makes me happy.

I took this picture weeks ago, but weren’t these tulips gorgeous?  Totally worth the effort of planting them last fall.  I just planted some annuals in their place, so look forward to more pictures of my yard coming soon.  Don’t hold your breath, though.

6 thoughts on “long time no see

  1. LCM

    Hey! I have missed you. That dog is SO cute. Since we moved, I have tossed around the idea of a dog, but the thought of cleaning up after something else’s pooh is just too much for me.

    Reply
  2. lovelydainty

    I’m so glad you’re back. You’re my first stop every day as I tour the blogosphere! Last year, when mowing got to be too much we called a neighborhood place (Valley Green, I think). Anyway, it was totally worth it. Much less stress for me! Don’t stay aay so long next time!

    Reply
  3. Vicki

    I got a real kick out of Mary calling herself “Liz Biff” and Ben’s comment about hypnotizing you–!! I also loved the photos and the flowers are so beautiful. Can’t wait to see the new dishwasher.

    Reply
  4. Jill

    I have been checking you blog so often that I was giddy to see this new post! I had such a great time with you this past week and hope you felt the same. We love you guys and look forward to seeing you in August. Loved this post, Mary & Jon just make me smile. Hope you have a fun week with Anne & Kathryn!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

