success, sometimes

creampuffs.jpg

After the fiasco of my previous post, I thought you’d like to know that I do get it right, sometimes.  For example, on Valentine’s Day, I decided to try making cream puffs for the first time ever.  I would have assumed making a pastry like these might be difficult or tricky, but it turns out that if you follow the directions, you can get them right on the very first try!  I made the version in my trusty red and white Better Homes and Gardens cookbook, but I suspect that any recipe would work.  We filled them with sweetened whipped cream and topped them with chocolate sauce (recipe in the same cookbook).  Decadent, fancy, and much tastier than the frozen ones from Costco.

Then this week, I tried my hand at this new recipe.  If you’ve ever enjoyed an Oyako bowl, or Oyako Donburi, at a Japanese restaurant you might have thought as I did, that such things can’t be replicated at home.  Wrong again.  This recipe was yummy — Matt said it tasted better than a restaurant (I’m blushing, really) — and wasn’t hard at all.  I was glad my kids are such picky eaters that night.  They had Cheerios, and I had enough left over for lunch the next day.  My kids did, however, enjoy a discussion about how oyako translates to “mother and child” referring to the chicken and the egg in the dish.  How fun.

7 thoughts on “success, sometimes

  1. Danielle

    Oooh I love the Betty Crocker cookbook. I have lots of fancy William Sonoma cookbooks that are fun sometimes but they always call for weird ingredients that I never have around the house. Nothing ike the good old fashioned tried and true. Well anyway, glad your creampuffs turned out, They look soooo good. Really…and not just because I can’t eat sugar. And congrats on your new nephew.

    Reply
  2. Sarah R

    Those look wonderful, and I think I’m going to try the Japanese dish. I wouldn’t ever have thought to try and cook something like that. I love cream puffs. Sometimes I make the pastry and just use it for little sandwiches! Yum!

    Reply
  3. Emily

    Mmmm, can I come over for dessert (I’ll bet they’re long gone by now, though :) I’m trying to make a fun dessert (stretch my culinary skills a bit) on Sundays…maybe I’ll try these next week. You promise they’re easy?

    Reply
  4. sillyjillybean

    I actually am turning over a new leaf seriously and have been cooking new meals weekly and have been cooking every dinner. Brian has loved the meals and has been very supportive of new attempts. Who knows I might actually begin exploring cookbooks if this keeps up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

