Christmas music for the kiddoes

Do you have a bunch of favorite holiday cds that you pull out each December?  Or a favorite radio station that plays Christmas music (I personally can’t stand pop music settings of Christmas favorites, but to each his own)?  I realized this year that I didn’t have any great Christmas music for the kids.  Why it took me 10 years to realize this, I do not know.  Don’t get me wrong, I think they should be exposed to the Messiah, Bing Crosby, and all of my favorites.  But there are some artists that are particularly appealing for kids, so why not?  Just as I had been thinking about this, someone in one of the many blogs and periodicals I read (can’t really remember which one) mentioned Raffi’s Christmas album — a Raffi Christmas album?  Hot dog! 

raffic.jpg

I’m sure this sounds totally nerdy, but I really like Raffi.  He is clever and folky, and his music doesn’t make me want to shove a sharp object in my ear like some kids’ music does.  His Christmas album is years old, but I tell you, it holds up.  We’re enjoying it thoroughly — in fact a little fight broke out when the faction that was running an errand with Dad wanted to take the cd in the car, while the group that was staying home wanted it playing here.  Holiday cheer all around. 

Now that I’ve shared my little recommendation, please let me know if there’s a must-have Christmas album, kids’ or otherwise, that I might need to purchase.  The music collection improves a little every year. 

7 thoughts on “Christmas music for the kiddoes

  1. Andrea

    I absolutely love the Amy Grant CD. There is this one song, Breath of Heaven, it’s written as the thoughts of Mary as they are headed to Bethlehem. It’s one of my favorites. Now since you don’t like pop versions, I won’t recommend Mariah Carey, but she’s so cheerful and her O’ Holy Night is really nice. A Nick at Night classic cartoon Christmas is great. It has all of my favorite songs from the classic Christmas shows we watch every year.

    Reply
  2. danielle

    You should have Anne burn you a copy of “A Rat Pack Christmas”. They bought it on Itunes so it is legal to copy it 7 times. In case you care. They were playing it that day I hung out at their house all day, and it just made the snow and everything feel so Christmas-like.

    Reply
  3. Anne

    Yes, like Danielle said, A Rat Pack Christmas is awesome. We also have some greaties like Billie Holiday’s “I’ve got my love to keep me warm,” Ella Fitzgerald’s “Baby, it’s cold outside,” and Gayla Peevey’s “I want a hippopotamus for Christmas.” Your kids would love that last one by the way. Oh, and Jackson 5 has GREAT Christmas stuff. Also Neil Diamond (gotta love that Jew singing the Hallelujah chorus) and Karen Carpenter round out the collection nicely. OOOh, and you would love this–there is a great version of God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen by the Barenaked Ladies with Sarah McLachlan. I love it. Happy downloading. :) (Or I could burn some for you… as Danielle says, it’s legit.)

    Reply
  4. robinbl

    I know it’s not a kid’s album, but all of Mannheim Steamroller’s Christmas albums are the best this time of year! I wish I’d been able to go to their concert last week. Oh well, maybe next year.

    Reply
  5. Emily Y

    Don’t laugh, but I remember listening to Raffi when I was little! My little sisters and I would dance around the living room thinking it was the best music in the whole world! I would love to hear his Christmas album, it would bring back so many memories.

    Reply
  6. Christina

    Thanks for the ideas. We’ve just been listening to Bing Crosby because that’s the only Christmas album we have! I think I’m going to download a few songs and put an album together! And I second Anne on God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen. Absolutely love that song.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

