Christmas cards

Yep.  It’s time to start thinking about Christmas cards. 

I love getting Christmas cards.  It is one of the best parts of the holiday season.  And I send them almost every year, because if you want to get them, you’d best send them.  We have moved nine times in our eleven married years, and Christmas cards have become the only way to keep in regular contact with people we’ve loved along the way.  A lot of people.  And we have large families.  Last year, I send over 200.  Yikes.

So, I’ve been wondering.  If I can get some of those wonderful people to read my blog, can I express my Christmas wishes there and save the stamp?  Or is there just something about getting those wonderful wishes in a physical envelope?  Am I the only one who gets excited each day when the mail arrives in December?

Also, what are your thoughts on Christmas letters?  Annoying, unnecessarily braggy?  Or informative and clever?  What about handmade cards — impressive, or do you think, “someone’s got way too much time on her hands”?  I always get a few cards with just a signature — no note, no picture.  Does anyone else think that’s kind of a waste?  What kind of cards do you like to send?  What kind of cards do you like to receive?

I think I already know what I’m doing this year, but I’d love to hear other people’s ideas.  Also, if you’re on an environmental kick and would prefer and e-card, now’s the time to let me know!

9 thoughts on “Christmas cards

  1. robinbl

    I love the letter-type cards that update you on what people have been doing all year. I look forward to getting those much more. I also like picture cards. I guess anything, as long as it’s got something to personalize it. While I like the aesthetic value of all the pretty but generic cards we get, I don’t really know what to do with them. I guess you can just put them up around your house for decoration. What do you guys do with your cards?

    Reply
  2. liz Post author

    I put pretty cards and pictures on the back of my side door. I like the geometric look of all of those squares and rectangles. I used to have a metal wreath thingy that I could tuck them in, but last year I decided I didn’t like that look as well as plain old tape on my door. I have a cute basket for storing the letters — last year’s are still in there, waiting for Matt to read them!

    Reply
  3. Sarah

    I love all the cards I get … even he one from my ob/gyn! I also love to read the letters. The only one that’s really long is my dad’s. I think I have our idea for this year. It should be a mix of home designed/store printed. Of course, if I get too behind I’ll probably just go to Costco like I did last year! If you are handmaking cards for over 200 people I will officially not like you anymore!

    Reply
  4. liz Post author

    I’m leaning toward using Costco again. If I did make something, it would be along the lines of a piece of cardstock with a photo taped on and a message. I see lots of gorgeous things that are just too expensive in my opinion. The Costco ones are cute enough, easy, and cheap.

    Reply
  5. danielle

    I like the letters, because otherwise…what’s the point. Plus it’s fun to hear what everyone is up too. Although with blogs we are kind of all in touch anyway. I have struggled with Christmas cards, because since it is just the two of us with no kids, I kind of feel like who cares? Nobody wants to know what we are doing, and they certainly don’t want a picture of us. Still I like getting Christmas cards and am worried nobody will send them to me if I don’t send them out. I keep saying, “next year”. Well, next year I will have a cute picture subject I guess. Anyway, I liked when I was little getting cards and hanging them up. Just more sparkle and fun.

    Reply
  6. andrewalma

    I like annual Christmas updates from people, as long as they’re interesting, not too long and cleverly written. I agree that some tend to be a bit braggy, so it’s important to be careful and add a little self-deprecating humor where appropriate.

    For the past few years, we’ve done e-cards. A picture of our family with a short update sent via email. It’s not as nice as the paper “snail mail” kind, but it’s much faster and cheaper.

    As for the “Seasons Greetings” blog, that would certainly that would be a good place, but I wouldn’t suggest it as the only place. Many people just aren’t into the blogosphere yet.

    Reply
  7. kira

    I love getting christmas cards in the mail too. ‘Cause seriously…who gets mail good mail anymore…mostly just bills and junk! I kinda like seeing a variety of homemade vs. from the store. We are having our printed on a card at Macey’s…cheap and still pretty cute (25 for 6.99). It is kinda nuts that you send out that many cards! I always knew you were “popular”… :)

    Reply
  8. Katrina

    I think Christmas cards should definitely include a picture(s). Letters are optional but the best ones are letters that have brief updates on members of the family and not a huge, long thing with every activity/award each child has accumulated. If the letter is too long, people won’t read it. But never slack on the picture, please.

    Reply
  9. Emily Y

    I love Christmas cards! Every year I think for weeks of what I am going to do, design my own or buy some. And, every year I design my own. I just can’t talk myself into buying them when I can easily do my own. (I guess being a graphic designer does have its perks!) The last couple of years I have had access to a letterpress which was amazing because I got the homemade feel, but done really fast. It was great. This year I am doing a 2-in-1 card, Christmas card and birth announcement. I know, Claire was born in May, but I never got around to it. Is that tacky? :) I will probably write a small little update paragraph and send a photo. We’ll see.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

