fried green tomatoes (and three that were red)

green-tomatoes.jpg

Fall came to Utah yesterday with a bang, and a lot of whimpering (by me).  In fact, were it not for the “September” on my calendar, and the green leaves still on the trees, I’d have thought we were skipping fall and moving straight to winter.

We sat through two different wet, windy, miserable soccer games in the morning (one for me, one for Matt).  Instead of coming home and working on the yard, as I had planned (Matt had “stain the fence” scheduled in his palm pilot) we watched snow dust the last of our summer flowers.

I reluctantly pulled out the plug-in pumpkin night light, and the fall berry wreath.

With a heavy heart, I plucked every green tomato from my plants (the weather had said it would freeze, which it did).  I picked more green than our entire harvest of red this year.

I love, love, love fall, but yesterday’s drizzle made me miss the sun already.

What’s good about fall (shiver, shiver)?

Kids in footed jammies:

jammies.jpg

A bumper crop of quince on our flowering tree,which I’m inexplicably delighted by:

quince.jpg

(That’s the entire crop.  Last year it only had one, so this is huge.)

The quince tree (bush?) looks like this in the spring (I adore it):

quinceblossoms.jpg

Anyone know how to make quince jelly? 

And, there’s the promise of Halloween, which as you might imagine, is a pretty big deal around here — it is discussed daily, to the point that poor Jon may need a paper chain to keep track of the days leading up to the fun.  The anticipation is killing him.  More on that later.

8 thoughts on “fried green tomatoes (and three that were red)

  1. Emily

    the lady (old and German) that I used to visit teach made quince jelly — I didn’t love it, but everyone else seemed to. Please do let us know how it turns out. Those blossoms are exquisite. And the kids in footed jammies are pretty cute, too!

    Reply
  2. Vicki

    I can really relate to your feelings about cold weather coming too soon. That snow storm did NOT make me happy. But I keep thinking–there is some nice weather still ahead–hope, hope! I loved the photo of Jon and Mary in the footed pajamas.

    Reply
  3. robinbl

    I can’t remember the last time it snowed in September. Very depressing. It does seem like we went from very hot to quite cold rather quickly, doesn’t it? I love the footed pajamas,too. Just when do they get too old for those, do you think? By the way, I have never had either fried green tomatoes or quince anything. Maybe we could try some samples?

    Reply
  4. Sarah

    I’m so jealous of people with home grown produce! I need to start a garden. Make sure you post picturesof your quince jelly when you make it.

    Reply
  5. Christina

    I was inspired (by you) to make fried green tomatoes for dinner tonight. I used the recipe from the Joy of Cooking and they were so good. Jason was a little nervous to try them because he had never had them before, but he loved them!

    Reply
  6. rhall

    Does anyone like mince pie? I have made it for years for Roger (no meat – I use apples, raisins,etc.). I used to buy the filling but now I make it with green tomatoes (and apples and raisins and spices of course). I put a crumb topping on it so it’s pretty good.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

