Texas Sheet Cake

Bring to a boil:

2 sticks of butter

4 Tablespoons of cocoa

1 cup of water

Pour the boiled mixture over 2 cups of sugar mixed with 2 cups of flour and 1 tsp. cinnamon.

Add:

2 eggs

1 tsp. baking soda mixed with 1/2 cup buttermilk (regular milk will work)

1 tsp. vanilla

Bake in well-greased 9×13 pan at 350 for 30-35 minutes.  Or bake in a 12×15 sheet pan for about 20 minutes.

Frost the cake while still warm (but partially cooled).

Frosting:

Boil 1 stick butter, 4 tablespoons cocoa, and 1/3 cup milk.

Add 1 box (3 1/2 cups) powdered sugar, 1 tsp. vanilla, and 1 cup of chopped walnuts.

If you are making this cake, may I recommend that you invite someone over to share it with?  Our little kids didn’t make much of a dent in it.  I’ve been eating it for a week, and it’s yummy, but not so good for my diet!

3 thoughts on “Texas Sheet Cake

  1. kira

    I’ve never made this…but I’m thinking maybe I’d better give it a try. Wish I lived closer-then I’d just share yours!

    Reply
  2. Katy

    The funny thing about Texas sheet cake is, I never had one until I married Kris and his mother made one. I guess the Texas sheet cakes aren’t actually made in Texas or my mother deprived me of this cultural icon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

