yummy banana muffins

This is a rich, fattening, gooey, moist muffin.  Don’t make it if you don’t enjoy that sort of thing.  For my family, I always double the recipe, for 24 muffins.  I make this in my stand mixer.

Cream together 1 c. sugar and 1/2 c. butter.

Mix in 2 eggs and 3 mashed bananas (mash well before adding).

Add and mix in:  1 1/4 c. flour (or 1/2 cup wheat flour, 3/4 cup white), 1 tsp. baking soda, and 1/2 tsp. salt.

Make a few muffins for the kid who likes them plain.  Then add about 1/2 or 3/4 cup of chocolate chips.  Make a few more muffins for the kids who don’t like nuts.  Finally, add about 1/3 cup of chopped walnuts and make the rest for the grown-ups.  (If you and your kids aren’t as fussy as mine, just add 1 cup chocolate chips and 1/2 cup chopped nuts to the whole thing.  Or you can add raisins, or some other combination.)  

Bake for about 25-30 minutes at 325 degrees.  If you prefer a large loaf instead, leave it in for an hour.

Is it hard to read a recipe when the writer can’t stop making parenthetical comments the whole time?  Just checking.

8 thoughts on “yummy banana muffins

  1. sillyjillybean

    Hey deary, just popped a banana muffin in my mouth. I have been using Sarah R.’s recipe, delicious! I will try this one too….next time there are a few uneaten bananas!

    Reply
  2. rhall

    Isn’t this MY recipe, which I got from a ward member in San Antonio 28 years ago and have been using ever since, always to use up overripe bananas I’ve thrown in the freezer!

    Reply
  3. Katy

    I made these yesterday, to use up the mushy bananas that I was supposed to make banana pancakes with. The really good thing about making them is I used up one of the Harry London fudge kits that I bought when you still lived here. The kits are really just chocolate chips, so I dumped them in and they tasted great.

    I saw some chocolates at Target the other day that looked like Harry London cookie joys. I don’t know if they taste the same, but it might be worth a try.

    Reply
  4. Jodi

    My hubby is a huge fan of muffins so of course we had to try these. Yummy! I did modify the recipe a tad (in hopes of making them slightly healthier). I don’t know how mine compare to the real thing but they were still good. I basically cut the butter in 1/2 and used applesauce to make up the difference. I also used Splenda for 1/2 of the sugar (and brown sugar for the other half, just because it sounded good). I used both whole wheat and regular flour. Even with all the adjusting, they were delicious. Of course, there was no skimping on the chocolate chips! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

