not that busy!

monopoly.jpg

Hasbro says we’re too busy to play Monopoly.  Sorry too.  And Scrabble.  They are launching a new line of “Express” games this summer — versions of their traditional games that can be played in 20 minutes or less.  It seems that today’s families just can’t find the time to play the old-fashioned way.  Really?

“We’re busy” has become the rallying cry of this generation, and I can feel it too.  I have four children, a husband who works too much, and a busy household to run.  It’s hectic some days.  But this whole busy-ness epidemic?  I want no part of it. 

I’m not embarrassed to say, I’m not that busy.  I have plenty to do, but I get to choose how I spend my time.  If I want to work myself into a frenzy with kids, housework and scheduled activities, I can do that.  But most days, I’d prefer to pace myself.  I’m not in a race, on a roller-coaster, or even a ferris wheel.  And I’m going to go play Monopoly with my kids right now.  How about you?

p.s. Yes, I realize that some people have “real jobs.”  I still say you have choices about how you spend your time. 

3 thoughts on “not that busy!

  1. Danielle

    trav and I have been talking a lot about how we spend our time…Well I have been talking to him about it. I think it says a lot about who we are and what are priorities are huh. And lately I feel like mine are not jiving. Anyway, I think you make a good point, and when you think about it…nothing is more important than spending time with your family. Which is why I abstain from laundry and opt to watch a movie with my husband…

    Reply
  2. sillyjillybean

    Liz,
    AMEN! As I had a marathon day taking kids to school, playdates, soccer practice, gymnastics, and then, at the end of the day a T-ball game, I realized that this was not how I ever wanted another day to go. Being busy does not equate to being a good mom or doing your kids a favor. You have it all figured out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

