a plea for help

Those of you who have been lurking on my blog, I know you’re out there.  Yes, you.  I’m talking to you.  I need some help here, so could you please break down and make a comment?

If you’ve been following my rambling, you may know that I was recently the recipient of an iPod.  What a treat!  Predictably, the husband is more enthusiastic about getting the thing loaded up with songs.  In fact, he loaded so many cd’s into iTunes that now we need to create playlists, because the iPod can’t hold them all at once.  He’s also begun downloading his favorite songs.  As a result, we painted our bedroom last night while listening to the following:

Patience.  West End Girls.  Jessie’s Girl.  Sweet Child O’ Mine.  Smells Like Teen Spirit.  Semi-Charmed Life.  Mmmm Mmm Mmm Mmm.  Afternoons and Coffee Spoons.  Dead Man’s Party.  Just Another Day.  Just Can’t Get Enough.  Hold Me Now.

Some of you who don’t know us in real life might enjoy trying to guess what year Matt graduated from high school, based on the above favorites.  A prize for the first person who guesses it.  I enjoy 80s and 90s music very much (some of you would call these “oldies”), but I think it might be time to update the favorites.  Will you please, please help by telling me a song or two, or a few, that you can’t live without at the moment?  The iPod thanks you.

8 thoughts on “a plea for help

  1. Andrea

    So, I am not one of those lurkers, but I have a 5 year old that is going to turn me into Christina Aguilera’s mom. Home girl’s got some moves. We listen to all sorts of stuff and I especially like stuff that makes Maddy want to shake it. We like Regina Spektor’s High Fidelity, Saving Jane (?) Girl Next Door, Augustana’s Boston, Snow Patrol’s Chasing Cars, Gwen Stefani’s Sweet Escape. Those are some of the newer ones. I also have George Michael, The Beatles, lots of Kelly Clarkson, and tons of 80s music. We are a very eclectic family. All you have to do is interject a phrase from a song that Maddy knows into conversation and she will just start singing it.

    Reply
  2. Emily

    You’ve probably already got this one, but I really like 10,000 Maniacs “These are Days.” I’m also into Regina Spektor, and some Ingrid Michaelson. You can never go wrong with Eric Carmen “Turn the Radio Up,” — I think Moody Blues’ “Wildest Dreams” is a must have feel good song. I also like Ben Folds’ “The Luckiest” though I guess you’d call that more of a love song–very sweet. My taste in music is many miles from hipster chic, but maybe you and the pod might like some of those. I’ll be excited to see who emerges from lurkdom and what songs people suggest.

    Reply
  3. Anne

    Here’s something I don’t know about my own sister: Do you like country at all? I don’t love it all, but I love a lot of it. I love Brad Paisley. “When I Get Where I’m Goin'” with Dolly Parton is a FAVORITE. I also thoroughly LOVE the Walk the Line soundtrack. Of course, Nickel Creek is my favorite band of all time and I highly recommend all of their albums. Anyway, since some of my recent likes (Regina Spektor, Ingrid Michaelson) have already been named, I thought I’d go that route… Oooh, also Alison Kraus and Union Station. Can’t go wrong there. Gotta love blue grass.

    Reply
  4. Katy

    I have been liking Johnny Cash since seeing Walk the Line. Also, liking The Fray, Relient K (a Canton group). I am not the best at music, I am learning about some cool groups from my 18 year old niece. Shannon Hale (the author I told you about) has a list of what she calls sassy woman songs on her blog http://oinks.squeetus.com/2006/09/sassy_women_son.html
    I have tried to listen to most of them and I like the list.
    Good luck, most of what I have on my iPod currently is books from our various road trips.

    Reply
  5. Trina

    Ok, I’ll comment since I already confessed to lurking, but sadly I will be of no help to you. My MP3 player quit working, both of our cars still have tape decks (yes, you read that right), my husband is a talk-radio addict, and what little music I do own would bring dishonor upon my family. Oh wait! (This may or may not redeem me) – I did download some Jack Johnson recently (ahem – from the Curious George soundtrack). Happy music shopping!

    Reply
  6. weisergal

    Even people who don’t like country music like Rascal Flatts! Ilove their songs “melt” “sarah Beth” and “mayberry”, but we have one of their CDs and it totally rocks!

    Reply
  7. liz Post author

    Hurray! Thanks for all the help — I’m having so much fun trying all these things out on iTunes. Trina, I so understand you — this is why I needed help!

    Reply
  8. Allie

    I’ve been blog hopping and stumbled upon yours. I really like Hooverphonic, especially their album called ‘Blue Power Milk’. Supergrass has a lot of fun stuff. I really like a band called ‘OK Go’. You can probably check out any of those bands on YouTube to see if you like their stuff. I have four kids (6, 4, 2, and 10 months), so we listen to a lot of Wiggles, Doodlebops, Disney stuff, and Brite Music. It is a rare treat when I hear anything I would have liked pre-motherhood. Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

