To Matt on our anniversary — sorry I didn’t get you a real present

matt.jpg

When I was 16 years old, my seminary teacher gave us the following scripture and told us these were the qualities to look for in a spouse:

Charity suffereth long, and is kind; charity envieth not; charity vaunteth not itself, is not puffed up, Doth not behave itself unseemly, seeketh not her own, is not easily provoked, thinketh no evil; Rejoiceth not in iniquity, but rejoiceth in the truth; Beareth all things, believeth all things, hopeth all things, endureth all things. Charity never faileth.  (1 Corinthians 13:4-8)

This seemed weird and cheesy at the time, but five years later I did just that.  Matt is all of the above.  Especially the long-suffering part. 

If he was only a pillar of charity, he would be a very good husband, but, I think, a dull one.  Come to think of it, he probably seemed slightly dull the moment I met him at that BYU ward prayer (I wish I was joking about the meeting place, but I’m not).  Oh, but there’s so much more to Matt than meets the eye.

As proof of the charity, I will say that Matt is never mean to me (or anyone else), even when I’m mean to him.  He works a hard, long day, then comes home and pitches right in, rescuing me from kids and messes, without me ever asking him to do so.  He worries about people and tries to help whenever he can, including long phone conversations with people who are essentially crazy, but need someone to talk to; and giving small “loans” to people he knows will never pay him back.

Matt is also a person of great faith.  He wants nothing more than to instill in our children a love of the scriptures and an abiding faith in Jesus Christ.  He is an excellent example for them in this regard.

Still sounding a little boring, I know.  What you don’t know yet is that Matt is hilarious.  He says things that no one else would think of, he tells jokes that some people do not understand (but I do), he finds humor in language and in everyday life.  When he was single, his roommates called his weird jokes “Lambertisms.”  An example from that era — “what if you went to the roller-skating rink, but didn’t rent skates, but just ran around in circles…”

Finally, the great bonus of Matt as a husband (I’ll try not to gloat) is that he lacks the male “sports” gene.  He does not golf, he does not watch sports on TV, he does not think going to a professional sporting event is the ideal day.  He would prefer to spend time with his family, hike up a mountain, read a good book or the newspaper, discuss politics or other interesting ideas.

Also, my mom thinks he looks like Clark Kent.  I’d say that’s a bit of a stretch, but he is very handsome.

It’s like I won the lottery.

matt-and-liz.jpg

8 thoughts on “To Matt on our anniversary — sorry I didn’t get you a real present

  1. anne

    Sheesh. You guys are so cute I’m feeling a bit vaklemt. Talk amongst yourselves. I’ll give you a topic: Rhode Island–is neither a road, nor an island–discuss. Here’s why Matt is the man. He cleans your kitchen floor on his hands and knees wearing those great yellow gloves–after a long day at work. I, too, have a man who would rather do almost anything than watch the superbowl. And for this, I am smitten.

    Reply
  2. Emily

    Happy Anniversary! I’ll be anxiously awaiting the post detailing your outing to Park City to look at the art. That is what you guys did, isn’t it?

    Reply
  3. Rhall

    I put my comment about Matt in the wrong comment spot!! You truly are a jewel, Matt. Liz and your kids are blessed. I am grateful.

    Reply
  4. Rhall

    By tne way, this is the first picture I’ve seen of you, Liz, with your hair growing out. I’ve wondered what you look like. (I like to stare at my loved ones!) And the picture of Mary with Matt is also so cute – Mary is a doll. By the way, Liz, you look so much like Aunt Peggy in that photo.

    Reply
  5. COOKIE ZEIN

    YOU TWO ARE THE CUTEST!!! HAPPY BIRTHDAY MATT – MINE WAS ON THE 30TH. GOOD MONTH SEPTEMBER. HAPPY ANNIVERSARY TO YOU BOTH. YOUR FAMILY IS JUST BEAUTIFUL.

    NAZIH AND I SEND YOU OUR BEST WISHES.

    I ENJOY READING YOUR THOUGHTS LIZ – AND THE PICTURES….

    XOX COOKIE AND FAMILY

    Reply

Leave a Reply

